Favorite 80’s song…GO.

In happier times: the 1980's.

In happier times: the 1980's.

Yesterday’s celebrity news inevitably led to today’s 80’s overload.

Which got me to thinking: What are my favorite 80’s songs ever, ever, ever? Being an 80’s kid, this is my bread and butter. And so,

GREATEST 80’s SONGS EVER AS DETERMINED BY PISH DE LUXE

– Star to Fall, Boy Meets Girl
– Break My Stride, Matthew Wilder
– Everyday I Write the Book, Elvis Costello
– How Will I Know, Whitney Houston (edging out “I Wanna Dance With Somebody”)
– Your Love, The Outfield
– Gypsy, Fleetwood Mac (so good it shouldn’t even count.)
– Hungry Eyes, Eric Carmen
– Eternal Flame, The Bangles
– Our Lips are Sealed, The Go-Gos
– Everlasting Love, Howard Jones
– No One is to Blame, Howard Jones (couldn’t choose!)
– I’m Alright, Kenny Loggins
– Human Nature, Michael Jackson
– Dancing in the Dark, Bruce (the only 80’s song by Bruce that I consider an actual 80’s song)
– Borderline, Madonna (doubles as my favorite Madonna song, edging out “Live To Tell”)
– Little Red Corvette, Prince (“You must be a limousine!!!”)
– We’ve Got Tonight, as sung by Kenny Rogers and Sheena Easton
– Against All Odds, Phil Collins
– Don’t Lose My Number, Phil Collins
– Easy Lover, Phil Collins and Phillip Bailey
– Phil Collins catalog
– If Ever You’re In My Arms Again, Peabo
– King of Wishful Thinking, Go West
– Africa, Toto
– Private Eyes, Hall and Oates
– The Stroke, Billy Squier (which I don’t love that much but damn if it don’t make me dance!)
– Goonies Theme Song, Cyndi Lauper
– Sister Christian, Night Ranger (emotional!)

Maybe I should stop. A friend just said, “Who creates a “favorite 80s song list”? Are you crazy?” Well to quote Dan Akroyd in my favorite movie, Ghostbusters II, “I guess so, Pete!”

Oh sheez, how could I forget:

– On Our Own, Bobby Brown (Ghostbusters II Theme Song)
– Every Little Step, Bobby Brown

But anyway. What am I missing?!?

One Response

  1. I suppose I’ll add “Faithfully” by Journey and “The Living Years” by Mike and the Mechanics, though I know it may make me wildly unpopular. “Pulling Muscles From a Shell” works too.

Leave a Reply

